n a v i g a t i o n <<
>> p a s t
>> p r e s e n t
>> f u t u r e
>> a r c h i v e s
>> l y r i c a l
>> c l i q u e s
>> a b o u t
>> p h o t o s
>> c o n t a c t
>> n o t e s
>> g u e s t b o o k
>> h o s t

The current mood of sensualminx@diaryland.com at www.imood.com
Emotional Wreck
12.01.02 . 2:57 pm

Scuro, Vito M.
Lt. Col USAF Ret.
Vito began his journey here on earth July 6, 1921. On November 25, 2002 in the presence of his loving wife Inez, Jesus came to gently lead him home. He served 31 years in the Army Air Corps, and US Air Force. Vito received the Presidential Unit Citation, Distinguished Flying Cross, American Defense Service medal, European/African-Middle East Campaign medal w/4 Bronze Stars, Asiatic-Pacific Campaign medal w/1 Bronze Star, Korean Service medal, United Nations Service medal, and numerous other medals. After retirement from the US Air Force, he served the State of California in the Employment Development Dept. for 14 years. Vito is survived by his wife of 56 years, Inez Scuro, son Anthony Scuro & wife Ella, daughter Terry (Scuro) Smith & husband Kenneth, sisters Dora Di Leo, Elvira & husband Elroy Lewis, Gloria Trapasso, Faith & husband Daniel Aceto, cherished grandfather to his grandchildren and great-grandchildren, numerous nieces and nephews. Friends are invited to celebrate Vito's life Friday December 6, 2002 at Lamberts Funeral home in Roseville. Viewing will be at 11:00 - 12:00, Service at 12:00 - 1:00 followed by graveside Military service at Newcastle Cemetery on Taylor Rd.

That was in the funeral notices in today's paper. Vito was my grandfather on my father's side. I have not had any contact with him, nor my grandmother Inez, since I was three years old. I have never in my life met my father, Tony.

Yet I've been crying, and feeling a way I don't know how to deal with. I think I need to go to my grandfather's funeral. It has to be done. I need to pay my respects, get my closure... and possibly even give that closure to my family members. They're my blood, and I feel terrible. Even worse, I've had my grandparents phone number and address written on a post-it note, sitting next to my computer for the last two years. I randomly found it one day searching through Yahoo. And I always said I was going to call them, to talk to them before it's too late.

But I never got the courage. And now it is too late, at least for my grandfather.

I don't know what to do. I know I need to go. I already have my schedule cleared so I can attend the funeral. I've never been to a funeral before. Not for anyone, let alone my own blood. My mother says I should call my grandmother beforehand. But I don't know how to. What do I say to her after all these years? And when I do go to the funeral, how do I face them? What frightens me the most is the possibility of meeting my father for the first time.

I'm shaking right now I'm so emotional. This is the heaviest thing I've ever had to deal with.

I just don't know what to do...

before - after

Mood: Queasy
Wearing: Clothes
Listening To: Silence
Thinking: I'm so confused right now, I don't know what I'm thinking
Wishing: I knew how to deal with this