n a v i g a t i o n <<
>> p a s t
>> p r e s e n t
>> f u t u r e
>> a r c h i v e s
>> l y r i c a l
>> c l i q u e s
>> a b o u t
>> p h o t o s
>> c o n t a c t
>> n o t e s
>> g u e s t b o o k
>> h o s t

The current mood of sensualminx@diaryland.com at www.imood.com
I thought I heard a ghost
10.30.04 . 1:39 am

So, I don't listen to the radio often. But a few minutes ago, I'm sitting in bed, doing a crossword puzzle, and listening to the local alternative station. It's the normal overplayed collection of modern music one often hears, filled with punk pop, alternative metal, and a number of songs from bands that all sound the same. But then, all of a sudden a song comes on... It sounds familiar, yet I can't place it. Then it suddenly clicks that it sounds so much like John Lennon I just about wet myself. The lyrics, the piano work, the build...

I look it up, and apparently it is "Look What You've Done" by the band Jet. At this point, I realize that I've heard some of their other songs. Namely "Are You Gonna Be My Girl," which always reminds me of Iggy Pop when I hear it. I go browsing through other tracks... I hear a snippet of "Radio Song." This also sounds oddly Beatles-esque, or at least Oasis trying to be the Beatles.

Ooh, what's this one? "Move On." Hello Mick Jagger!

"Come Around Again." I can't really place this one. I'm feeling Tom Petty somehow.

This reminds me of when I heard the song "We're Going To Be Friends" by The White Strips and swore McCartney had a hand in it. Only that was one song. Not every track on the album.

Part of me wants to rush right out and buy this album. But the other part... I don't know. Is Jet simply influenced by these songwriters? Or are they rip-offs? I don't know what to think. I like it, I really do. I just don't know if I can respect myself for liking it.

before - after

Mood: Confused
Wearing: Gremlins T and jammie bottoms
Listening To: Well, duh
Thinking: I can't believe I just wrote an entire entry about a band.
Wishing: I was a normal human.